Structure of Civil Service Exam
choose your color

Civil Services Exam

blog image

Civil Services Exam

The Civil Services Examination is the pathway to the highest ranks of the Indian bureaucracy. Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Income Tax, Customs, Postal Department, Railways, Accounts and Audit, Corporate Law, and many others. It is a public examination for selection to Class I posts and some Group B posts in departments. No matter what subject you have studied at graduation level or how many marks you have scored in this exam. Selection will be based only on performance in a two-stage written test followed by an interview.

Those who want to reach higher levels of government service through the civil service exam, which is called the IAS exam by the common people, must first know the exact format of this exam. It is enough to have this knowledge before learning and training begin; The key is to train in a good place. Absolute IAS Academy, a leading civil service academy in Kerala, also provides civil service training to degree holders along with the degree. You can study online and offline. There are branches in Kozhikode, Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi in Kerala.


The Civil Services Exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. The exam has three phases.

1 Preliminary Exam
2. Main Exam
3. Personality test

Out of these, the final selection is based on the total marks obtained in the main exam and personality test. The purpose of the preliminary examination is only to find eligible candidates to appear in the main examination 

Preliminary Exam

It is a 2 part objective-based exam.

1) General Studies – Paper One.
2) General Studies – Paper Two.

In this, the candidates who qualify for the main exam are selected based on the marks of the first paper. The second paper is the qualifying exam. Paper 1 will have questions from Current Affairs, Indian History, National Movement, Geography, Economics, Political Science, Social Development, Basic Science, Art, Culture and Environment. The second paper which is the qualifying exam has subjects like Comprehension, Communication, Logical Reasoning, Numerical Ability, English and Mental Ability.

Main Exam

Mains exam has nine papers. All written tests. Paper 1 is an examination in one of the Indian languages ​​of the 8th schedule and Paper 2 is in the English language. One of these is the ESSAY paper. Four papers are general studies papers and two are optional subjects of our choice. Most science subjects, humanities subjects, engineering, medicine, law, and various languages ​​and literature are on the list of optional subjects. Earlier two optional subjects were to be written. Now it has been reduced to one. There is no requirement for the candidate to choose the same subject as optional at the graduate level.

The interview

Based on the marks of the main exam, you will be called for an interview. Conduct an in-depth personality test and interview board. This cross-sectoral meeting is of high quality in its effectiveness. The final selection will be based on aggregate marks of the mains exam and interview. 


Graduation is the qualification required to appear in Civil Services Examination. Candidates belonging to the general category can write the civil service exam maximum of 6 times only. O.B.C. The category can be written 9 times. There is no such limit for the Scheduled Castes category. The final list will be prepared keeping in mind the principles of reservation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *